Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 03-24-2007, 08:52 PM   #1
Ensign

Send a message via AIM to Jeremy Send a message via MSN to Jeremy

Hello, I am just beginning the journey into cruising and would like to avoid some pitfalls.

I have some good experience with small boats, and raced Z class in my teens. I have a motorboat which I’ll get rid of. I have a boat master’s certificate.

My idea is to go straight to a (40ft odd) cruising yacht, and Deborah and I will spend about five years coastal sailing and studying. Sensible? Or spend those years with something smaller (and cheaper)?

And type of boat. I have talked myself into steel. I don’t mind the slower travel, and like the strength and impact resistance it offers. I’m open to having my mind changed though.

And, if steel, I like the look of the Cox 40 and the Ganley Tara and they seem to be in my price range. Has anyone had experience of or with either of these?

I would welcome any comments on this, or anything new that might help me get started safely. I am in Wellington, New Zealand, and will start any local expeditions from there. Thanks for putting up with this ramble. Jeremy

Old 03-24-2007, 09:58 PM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

Hi Jeremy,

I do not think there is any great benefit in working your way up the size scale. With the obvious experience you have as a seaman, you will have all the necessary logistical skill to understand the differences, for which you will need to compensate.

I can't help you with the designs you seek information regarding, but the Kiwi's are a great sailing boat nation and local surveyors will, I am sure, point you in the right direction.

Best wishes

David.

Auzzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 09:54 AM   #3
Admiral

Hi and welcome Jeremy.