Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki

Join Cruiser Log Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2009, 03:59 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Does anyone have personal experience of fitting AIS and interfacing it to a Maxsea system running on a laptop. Does it make any difference if the Maxsea is genuine or a copy ? Which model and manufacturer is recommended
__________________

__________________
steelfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:56 PM   #2
Captain, Sailboat Reboot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Home Port: None
Vessel Name: Reboot
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to svReboot
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelfan View Post
Does anyone have personal experience of fitting AIS and interfacing it to a Maxsea system running on a laptop. Does it make any difference if the Maxsea is genuine or a copy ? Which model and manufacturer is recommended
AIS uses a form of NMEA 083 that is a hybrid between it and NMEA 2000. In essence the big implementation detail is that is talks at 38,000 baud instead of 4800 baud. So you need a dedicated COM port running at the higher speed. The second issue is that the software, chart plotter or whatever has to be able to recognize the specific "sentances" used by AIS. On that I can not help you, I don't know at what point Maxsea added the code to recognize the new sentances. But any AIS box will interface (presuming the correct COM port settings) to any navigation package that supports the AIS sentances.
__________________

__________________
Roger
Current position http://www.winlink.org/dotnet/maps/Positio...?callsign=W2ZDB
Ham: W2ZDB Reboot: WDB8435
Web Site: http://www.sailboatreboot.com
Blog:http://blog.sailboatreboot.com
svReboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:05 AM   #3
Ensign
 
jenain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelfan View Post
Does anyone have personal experience of fitting AIS and interfacing it to a Maxsea system running on a laptop. Does it make any difference if the Maxsea is genuine or a copy ? Which model and manufacturer is recommended
We have successfully interfaced our WatchMate, and Digital Yacht, Class B AIS transponder system with MaxSea. We are using version 10.3.2.1 of MaxSea on a laptop computer, and we believe that you have to have this version , or a later version for this to work .(if you are not using original MaxSea software). There is a lot of very useful, “how to”, info and downloads on this and other subjects on the Valhalla website:

http://yachtvalhalla.net/downloads/download.htm

I purchased the WatchMate and the AIS class B transponder from Vesper Marine in New Zealand, and can highly recommend this company, both for the quality and performance of their products, and their excellent technical support.
__________________
jenain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:32 PM   #4
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I have bad expirance with AIS instalation and compatibility with maxsea. AIS devise was from Digital yacht company. First you needed to ask that AIS producer confirm that it is compatible with your program version. plus it not work on 38, 000 but only 4800. second thing you needed always connect to dedicated port, it is very bad solution. Plus it works not stable.

In future I will change to Simrad AIS with separate dedicated equipment.
__________________
ajonuska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:01 PM   #5
Admiral
 
Nausikaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,619
Default

In my olpinion, which is in line with ajonuska's, it is best to have exuipment from the same manufacturer if possible. Even this though does not guarantee compatability. Always check with the company's technical representative.

Aye // Stephen
__________________
Yacht NAUSIKAA | Call Sign: 2AJH2




WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU DID SOMETHING FOR THE FIRST TIME?

www.nausikaa.org.uk

= Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Lithuania
Nausikaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #6
cwa
Ensign
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nausikaa View Post
In my olpinion, which is in line with ajonuska's, it is best to have exuipment from the same manufacturer if possible. Even this though does not guarantee compatability. Always check with the company's technical representative.

Aye // Stephen
For what it's worth in this discussion.

I have the ACR class B AIS transponder interfaced with my computer.

I use Rose Point "Coastal Explorer" as the charting software with NOAA vector & CHS raster charts.

Also have a KODEN radar interfaced into the computer.

It all works well for me.

Next item is to input my depth sounder & wind instrument through a NEMA to RS232 converter.

Carl

sv-mom.com

Sailing BC coast with our BS 36
__________________
cwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:10 AM   #7
Ensign
 
SpawnyWhippet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

I have interfaced my CSB200 with MaxSea 10.3.2.1 and successfully get the AIS GPS data locating my boat in Maxsea. It didn't work at first until I changed the sentence type to 'RMC' in the Advanced Settings section. However I am not yet able to display AIS information in MaxSea - I can see AIS messages in the ProAIS software that came with the AIS, but they will not import into MaxSea. Its probably a single checkbox that was missed, but any assistance would be useful here.

(I am also missing the option to display 'AIS NMEA 183' as described in Valhalla's AIS guide.)
__________________
2005 Beneteau Oceanis 423 Clipper
SpawnyWhippet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 03:21 PM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpawnyWhippet View Post
However I am not yet able to display AIS information in MaxSea - I can see AIS messages in the ProAIS software that came with the AIS, but they will not import into MaxSea.
Did you set up the AIS input port in the "radar" tab? While it sounds strange, that's where you have to define the input for AIS. Also, unless your copy of MaxSea is licensed for it, you still won't see AIS data - it's one of those "optional extras" that you have to pay extra for...
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 06:28 PM   #9
Commander
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelfan View Post
Does it make any difference if the Maxsea is genuine or a copy ?
Don't take me wrong. I do think that piracy is the thing going on at Somalia, not at file sharing servers. And I could cite you at least ten reasons for not paying fpr software at all. But if you are reluctant to pay (for whatever reasons), why not use a software which does not impose such restrictions? In this way (even by just using it and telling others what you are doing, even better by reporting bugs back) you are contributing to a better world.

I would recommend to try out OpenCPN.

It can work with GPS and AIS, do anchor drag and collision alert, and all the usual chart plotting/navigation functionalities there.

You can download US coastal maps useable with it for free from the NOAA website,

It knows the usual map formats, so you can use most of the maps you can get.

One notable shortcoming is that it cannot read NOAA's RNC format, so for maps covering the rest of the world you should rely on other sources, like commercial maps or file sharing. (I would be pleased to see some bounty offered to the developer to address the issue.)

I am in no way associated to opencpn other than using it and believing in free software.
__________________

__________________
magwas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regarding Ais danblu Power & Electronics 38 01-18-2011 06:44 AM
Ais Garmin Interfacing? Gallivanters Power & Electronics 2 01-11-2011 04:11 AM
Vhf Ais Reciever Rossmonty Power & Electronics 4 09-05-2009 08:58 AM
AIS YachtVALHALLA General Cruising Forum 17 01-20-2006 01:44 PM
AIS, Valhalla's Near Miss and Colregs AndrewF General Cruising Forum 2 01-12-2006 01:11 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0