Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 07-09-2007, 11:18 PM   #1
Lieutenant

I am hopeing some of you may be able to help me out.

I am a total newbie. I have boated all but 2 twice in my life and that was in a little fishing boat on a lake.

I purchased a 41 foot hatterus convertable. Well we close on it Thursday. The wife and I look so much to taking her out.

I have a slip rented for it in Clear Water Beach Florida.

Now what? I plan on using the boat to live on for 2-3 days a month while fishing and such. The thing is I know very little about the rules for open water operations. I know I can operate the boat, just I need to do it safe and legal.

The boat has what I am told are good electronics. How to use any of them is out of my mind. Some kinda 50 mile radar, VHF/UHF radio's, sounder and GPS with plotter.

No gen set is included. I am not sure if we will get one right now or wait till we think we need one. I am a green energy nut and had 10 deep cycle batteries and 4 solar panels installed.

No water maker as it has 500 gallons of fresh water. The slip also has water and power.

Now, I know this is dumb. What should I do now? I need to learn how to pilot this thing and such. Were should one go? I thought about hiring a person for a few days and haing them show me the jist of things.

I know I started out getting this boat before I have the experiance for it, but that is kinda the way I am.

To get a Profile of me. I am only 28. I have 1.7 million safe miles in my own aircraft and 1.4 million safe accident and ticked free miles in my own semi truck. I plan on being safe and want to earn what education I may need to operate this vessel. Any ideas are much taken.

Also, I am more a hands on guy.

Also, I need a decent shopping list if stuff I need, should have and such. It will be my wife our dog and my self on the boat.