Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-25-2007, 07:22 PM   #1
Ensign

Thumbs up

Hello everyone, my name is mike and I am new to the sailing world. I found this great site and was hopeing some one may have some insight for me on a few questions I have. My sailing experience is limited to sailing on friends boats around the island of oahu, but after two military deployments and two years of saving my money I am ready to purchase my own cruiser. I plan on takeing some radio corses and sailing courses in the future for passage makeing, but I am curios about the certifications ie.ASA etc. Can anyone tell me if it is mandatory (or law) to have these certifications if your are captaining your own vessel?

Old 09-25-2007, 09:01 PM   #2
Admiral

If you're from the US and will be registering the boat in the US, you don't need any qualifications. That might/probably-will change in the future, but for now, I can't think of a state that requires licensing or other qualifications (except for NJ which requires that you pass a boating safety test, but as far as I know it's only for inland lakes).

I do believe that you should learn to sail, learn about safe boating practices and navigation, and how to handle a boat before you buy one and set off. There are too many boaters out there who think it's the same as driving an automobile, and they are a danger - to themselves as well as to others.

SY WATERMELON |
MV WATERMELON (New) | Cruiser's Dictionary, free ebook

= Cruiser's Dictionary, North America,
JeanneP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 09:44 PM   #3
Rear Admiral

Welcome aboard, Mike!

Which branch? I was stationed at the sub base in Pearl Harbor nearly three decades ago.

Knowledge gained through courses and experience are all fine and won't weigh you down one bit. Learn everything you can.