Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-14-2013, 03:18 AM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Seattle
Default Crusing in a racing hull?

Guys I know that this is likely a dumb question, but I lack experience in the area of prolonged cursing and would like your input....

I've been looking at boats for a few years now waiting to find the right one. I live in Seattle and would like a sturdy craft that can take me around Puget Sound as well as eventually up and down the Pacific Coast. I do dream of making a trip down below the equator, etc. I have some experience with owning a 26ft sloop, crewing on a 36ft sloop as well as a short stint on a 70-footer. However all of these boats had more traditional designs - full keels, deep V hulls, etc.

From time to time I run into some of these hot-rod sailboats, sometimes are outrageously low prices! I usually steer clear because I want something that can be solid, go out there for months and years if needed, etc. However, I have once again encountered a stellar deal on a fin-keel, spade rudder racer with a shelf of trophies. My question is, what makes such a boat an undesirable cruiser? People cross the Pacific in them under race conditions, why would it make a bad bluewater cruiser?