Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-25-2007, 12:45 PM   #1
Admiral

Vessel Name: Persevate
Send a message via Yahoo to atavist

I have no experience with wooden boats, or even boats with wooden decks. I've read lots of discussion about varnish vs. oils vs. proprietary treatments. However a topic I have not seen discussed at length is the "daily feeding" of on-board wood. I'm still in the planning/dreaming phase but there is definitely something attractive about nice teak decks and lots of wood below deck but as I look at boats on yachtworld.com and boats.com and a slew of other boat broker sites it seems that a lot of people have let their wood work go to pot which while good for me, as it brings down the price of the boats without compromising the structure (usually) and is something I feel more than capable of replacing/repairing, I simply can't understand...

So maybe that is just it... maybe I don't understand... is there something more required to maintain wood decks and interiors beyond a regular citrus wash and wax feeding?

"To see new things, and live day to day, is better than wine or poppy, and fitter for a man." (Theseus)
atavist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 01:19 PM   #2
Admiral

I grew up in a house where EVERYTHING was wood (my father was a builder and loved wood). Each and every room had a different wood on the walls - larch, knotty pine, pecky cyprus, ... you get the idea. Peter and I now own the house and use it as a summer home.

I now understand why I wanted as little woodwork on the interior of our boat - wood is dark and reflects back very little of the light. Living in the confined space of a boat, the dark wood made me feel as if I were a troglodyte*.