Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-16-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
Ensign

Hi all!

Reading the useful "Hitchhiker's guide to the ocean" on this very website, I discovered there would be a number of ships departing Gibraltar for the Caribbean from October to December every year.

My plan is to reach Europe around the end of November, and find such a ship accepting me as a crew. I have no sea experience at all for now, but I'm very determined, and not afraid of hardship!

Question #1: What would be you experienced folks' appraisal of my chances of actually finding this kind of ship over there? Are there hundreds of them really departing at that time of the year, or is it just the occasional lone (sea) wolf? Any specific recommendations as per increasing these chances?

Question #2: Given my overall plan is to reach the shores of Central/South America before the end of the year (I want to visit a friend in French Guyana for christmas), how easy would it be to find a boat from the Caribbean islands to the continent? Where should I look for such a boat?

Thanks in advance for any help!

D.

Old 05-17-2011, 03:00 AM   #2
Rear Admiral

Hi Dorea,

First off... I apologize for the delay in getting an answer to your question.

You are definitely on the right track. Assuming you seek a yacht to travel on (as opposed to a ship)...

Get yourself to Gibraltar around the end of October and head for the docks. Almost every vessel sailing from the Mediterranean to the Caribbean stop in Gibraltar and the marinas are all within walking distance.