Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-14-2007, 02:27 PM   #1
Ensign

The warning of the Dengue Fever outbreak in SE Asia that is posted in the MMNETSEA forum board has prompted me to ask the following; What if you leave a Dengue Fever area on an extended passage and are already far from land, and someone on board develops symtoms that you suspect may be Dengue Fever?

Apart from making full speed to the closest landfall for tests and professional medical assistance, how must this "suspected" Dengue Fever case be handled while still on board? Is it a case of do NOTHING until you get to a doctor?

Old 06-14-2007, 04:10 PM   #2
Lieutenant

Home Port: Ballard
Vessel Name: VAGABON

I work in health care and looked this up on the CDC site. Two types, Dengue Fever (DF) and Dengue Hemorragic fever (DHF). Clinical pearl, anything with hemorragic attached is not good. The good news with DHF is pretty rare. DHF is noted by bleeding around the gums, nose,etc..... It is usually late in the illness.

Dengue has a mosquito vector, so lather up with DEET.

Viruses are viruses, treat the symptoms and maintain hydration. They advised not to use Aspirin and other NSAIDS except acetaminophen. If you are unlucky enough to get DHF, no sense helping out with a medication that will promote bleeding.

Keep yourself hydrated!!!!!! The young and the old are the highest at risk of any virus. If you are normally healthy you should do fine.

Here in Idaho we are about to start the annual West Nile Virus paranoia. It does kill a few people each year, but not as much as the seasonal influenza each year.

DW

Old 06-14-2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Admiral