Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-17-2007, 02:36 PM   #1
Ensign

Since my early 20s I have wanted to cruise. I am now 36 with a wife and 2 daughters 9 and 1/12. I am an engineer with a small high tech company and my wife is a nurse. We bought a lot on a lake for cheap and built a house. My wifes brother built it for us and when it was done we had 70000 in equity. We were the 3rd house in the subdivision. It is now full of giant houses. When the lot next door sold for 150000 I decided to get my house appraised. I now have 250000 in equity.

I plan on selling and buying a smaller home not on the lake. I will be able to pay cash for the new home. I will be without payments of any kind other than utilities, food etc. No car payments or mortgages or CC debt.

I am an experienced racer with limited cruising experience. I have a Mega 30 that has a new cruising interior. If you remember the boat it has a 2250 lb lift keel. Good for skinny water. I could sell the mega and get a cruising boat.

I should be able to consult for my company if I want to stop working full time.

I am excited for my family's future which suddenly looks bright but also uncertain what to do. Comments welcome.

Old 11-17-2007, 02:48 PM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Of course the final decision will always be YOURS! There is consideration for your and your family's extended future.

Besides that, if it were me, I know what I would do - buy an affordable boat and go! Live life as you want to, while you can.

But, consider your optoins carefully.

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2007, 03:17 PM   #3
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighthouse View Post