Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 08-22-2011, 11:48 AM   #1
Ensign

HI All,

just registered here! what a great bunch of people.

I am in the process of looking for a liveaboard/cruiser to dock/live in Charleston, SC. I am looking for 37'-45' footers on a purchase budget of @$70,000 USD.

I have little cruising experience but have raced freshwater J24/J27/J30's and a Pearson Flyer for many years. I am also a licensed pilot so I know the basics of navigation.

i have a few inquiries that i would appreciate some opinions and input with.

1. good bluewater boats in my stated budget that would fit the bill.

2. good liveaboard marinas in Charleston for about $500 per month all inclusive. (i have looked at Ashley and it seems nice)

thanks

Old 08-23-2011, 03:37 AM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Welcome aboard,

Please enjoy the forums here and feel free to contribute where you can. You will have quite a range of boats to look at--realistically you should contact a broker and start looking at boats locally just to get an idea of what is out there. The prices can widely vary based on sail condition, motor hours, electronics installed. Sorry to say that I cannot recommend a particular vessel for your use. Make a list of what is important to you and the sort of sailing that you'd like to engage in and then share it.

Gunkholing? shallow draft

Long bluewater passages?

How many people aboard? solo? wife and 3 other adults? two kids? a dog?

Classic boat?

Manual systems?

Power everything?

Fast?

Mellow?

Motorsailing (e.g. Inside Passage to Alaska?)

High latitude sailing?

Tropical ventilation and sun shade?

Are you a gourmet cook? Galley important?

Project person? Work room importan