Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-17-2008, 04:13 PM   #1
Lieutenant

I have been cruising for the last seven years, much of it in the Eastern Carribean. I stopped to work and found a job at the Budget Marine boatyard store in St. Thomas. This was an opportunity to learn about marine products and help people who were working on their boats in the yard to select and properly use materials for various projects.

A significant perk at this job was a good discount on mechandise for my own refit. I had expected to do customer service and learn lots in areas where my knowledge was weak, but due to circumstances, I became the cashier and had less time to educate myself.

I noticed that Budget carried many types of products where there were both brand names and much less expensive non branded items available and there were also many areas where only unknown lines were available.

I made good use of my discount and bought quite a bit of both (brands and unknowns). Much of the unbranded material that I bought has had a poor performance or service life, and I came to the conclusion that a dis-service to mariners was being done. In my opinion, most people armed with foreknowledge would rather pay a premium for quality that would last and stand up to the rigors encountered when conditions become challenging.

I am not attempting to single out Budget Marine here, as I think that they are not alone in offering inferior product in which the profit margins are likely to be better.....I have thought of doing this post for quite a while and what got me going today was looking at some adhesive sail repair tape that I applied to a tear in my old bimini recently that gave up it's hold after a good soaking yesterday. The entire roll of previously applied heavier cloth has never come apart....