Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-14-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
Ensign

We are in the Keys on our way to Green Turtle. I've little experience in the Abaco's and hope to tap the braintrust at the forum.

Any favorate anchorages between Marathon and Green Turtle? Where do ou check in the Abaco's, and finally, all my charts and my maptech gear in on the boat. I could use a recommendation for a cruising guide or two.

Thanks

sv Dessert First

Pensacola, FL

Chimayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 07:43 PM   #2
Lieutenant

I liked the Steve Dodge cruising guide when we were there a couple of years ago. We cleared in at Marsh Harbour Marina (the marina guy makes a call, and the agents come to you. Marina guy gets $25 for the service.) I understand the Green Turtle Cay is a Port of Entry, also.

Old 01-14-2008, 08:17 PM   #3
Rear Admiral

Have you considered entering the bank at Gun Cay? It is a pretty sail, and many things to see on the bottom as you traverse the bank. Then you can anchor at Chub Cay and enter. Then sail around the Berries, and head north.

At the Gun Cay entrance you can check in at Cat Cay, but they wanted $100 to tie our dinghy to the dock. In Bimini they tried to force me into a slip to check in. I told them I was on the go, and leaving as soon they would do my paperwork. Took 30 minutes to do it while I anchored off the north end of the docks.

In Nassau when not picking up family &, or friends I anchor, and climb the wall at the customs house where the cruise ships are. If I am meeting people I get a slip to make it easy on them. When I get home to the boat tonight I will look to see what cruise book I use. Have fun, and be safe no matter which way you go..............
Old 01-14-2008, 10:23 PM   #4
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by imagine2frolic View Post