Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-24-2009, 11:10 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi folks,

I have this dream of buying a yatch and setting off for one year to see the world. Now I have no knowledge of any kind concerning anything that has to do with moving over water, so I started looking for information, and I came across this forum, and the general feeling was " unless you've spent years preparing, you're a fool, sailing is much much closer to a picture of the Titanic than the cover of a magazine, especially if you attempt unprepared ". But then there were the stories of people who just knew the basics of sailing a boat and went out there and did it.

I have absolutely nothing against the idea to prepare it, but before I start researching the subject, I want an advice: How much should I deepen my knowledge on the subject and in which fields? I want to know as little as possible not to spoil the magic and surprise, I do not want it to be just the step-by-step unfolding of a plan which I have taken 5 years to design, that occures in a predictable way. Too much knowledge can ruin the magic and the fun ( euh... right? ).

However, I want to know what sort of risk I will face, how serious ( VERY, that I know, but in which way exactly? ) and dangerous.

I want to know all I need to cope with the situation, all I need not to get killed or to very seriously endanger myself, and that's all. How much and how should I prepare to balance the proper amount of knowledge with the maximum thrill of discovering?

Now, in order to answer in a concise and pertinent way my question, I believe I should tell you a bit more about myself, as everyone requiers a different level of preparation. Here are a few skills I posses that I believe might be useful: