Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-20-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: London
Vessel Name: TBC
Default Sailing 70ft steel yacht RTW

Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie to the forum but not to sailing.
Just in the throws of buying a boat to do our RTW trip in.
I have 20 yrs sailing experience including some time as a professional skipper.

My wife has some sailing experience, though when it comes to parking the boat, that is generally something that I do - for now.

We also have 2 wee kids.

So, what are peoples thoughts on doing this trip in a 70ft 50 tonne motorsailer?

I have found one which is complete except for the electronics and rigging (masts are there, but not installed) - no nav gear/ chart plotters/gps/compass/comms gear.
We can afford the vessel and the costs to complete, but just looking for opinions on how manageable this boat will be for 2.
Most of the time we will be anchoring rather than coming alongside. (pretty much will only come alongside for provisioning).

I'd like to hear from some who have done similar trip, with similar sized boat.

I do of course realise that a 40 ft vessel will be easier to handle, but for about 50% of the time we will have between 2 and 6 other passengers with us, and I just feel that a 40 - 45 ft vessel will be too cramped.

Am I bonkers even considering it.

Old 06-21-2013, 12:50 AM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

That's a massive vessel, yes. Others have managed large boats with small crew but it may be a bit much for just two. Motor-sailors tend to be skimpy on the masts so your sail size may be more manageable than I'd imagine for a boat of that size. Whether a boat is manageable by a small crew is really dependent upon the boat and how it is laid out--was it designed for short handed/solo sailing or was it designed for a bigger crew?