Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-17-2006, 11:55 PM   #1
Ensign

Default SSB or alternatives

Hi. I'm a relative novice having a sailing cat built and intend to sail this from France to Thailand. The advice I am getting on comms is confusing as far as SSB goes: some say that it is essential, as the only way to talk to other boats on passage, others that it's only for 'radio hams' -and I have neither time nor inclination to learn to become one - and that the Iridium system I will have in for satphone and email will be sufficient. So, which view is right? and with SSB sets like ICOM costing something like 10 times as much as VHF, surely ther must be a cheaper, easier, more idiot-proof (it will need to be for me!) system that yachties can/do use to chat en passage?

Advice welcome as always......

barry

Old 12-18-2006, 02:37 AM   #2
Admiral

Among those items on our boat that I consider the best value for the money, most used, most missed if it wasn't there, I vote for our SSB radio.

Using the SSB radio one can:

1. Receive weather faxes on your computer.

2. Receive spoken weather reports.

3. Receive email

4. Speak with a great many of the other boats on the sea that are far beyond VHF range. We were waiting for friends to sail from Vanuatu to Fiji one year and kept in regular radio contact with them. Good thing because three times they left for Fiji and each time they were driven back into Vanuatu by the weather. We finally had to cancel their wedding plans for Fiji because they just couldn't make it. Good and cheap way for us all to communicate about something as important as a wedding, and to know they were all right, just weathered in.

5. Listen to news and music even in the middle of the ocean, far from any satellite radio or land-based FM stations.

and if you do get your HAM license, you can: