Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 08-23-2005, 12:36 AM   #1
capt-dave

Default Taking a year off to go sailing?

I would like some constructive advice on the purchase of a cruising sailboat. My wife and I are completing the sale of our business and are talking about taking a savatical for awhile before we dive back into the business word. We live along the gulf coast of Texas (Galveston Bay) and would like to spend some time in the Caribbean. We are talking about taking a year off and sailing south. We are not complete newbie’s to sailing both my wife and I have been sailing for a number of years but we have spent most of our adult lives working, nose to the grindstone and now have this (what we see as) a once in a lifetime chance to break away and spend some time for us.

The funds that we have for the purchase of a cruising sailboat are about 50k. My first questions would be is it realistic to think that we could purchase a boat that would safely make a voyage such as this for 50k. Since my wife and I will be literally “debt free” the chances of a successful cruise are good but is there any good advice out there that would shed some light on what it realistically costs to live and cruise aboard a sailboat?

There are a lot of logistics involved in a “going sailing” plan. We won’t sell our home in Texas but could possible lease it out for a year. Our cars would probably go into storage along with our house hold goods. What about things like Banking? Or how do you get mail while afloat? Has any body written a good step by step guide to the great escape?

Advice wanted

-Dave-

PS…Oh by the way, our business partners and friends all looked at us with crossed eyes when we mentioned that we want to sail away for a year. – What, not work 24 hours a day? - Maybe one shouldn’t mention such things until you’ve shoved off.