Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-08-2007, 09:07 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Timing for W to E Transatlantic?

Hi.

First of all, to the webmasters in particular: This is not a crew position wanted -type ad. I already posted one of those in the proper forum. This is a specific question about the best way to find a crew position on a pleasure boat. Thank you for not deleting this topic.

OK, whew!

I have a lot of greenwater experience and I want to find a crew position crossing the atlantic, W to E, this february-ish. Is that unrealistic? Currently I am in guatemala, and, in addition to posting here, I am travelling to Panama to search for a ride while working as a line-handler in the Canal.

Is Panama a good place to look? I am hoping to board for a crossing sometime in february - Is this a reasonable hope this time of year?

A sailor in Mexico told me that, in addition to it being a good place to look for a crossing vessel, there is also a yacht club at the west end where one can camp and meet skippers, and that line-handling work with boats going through the canal is quite plentiful. Is this fantasy? Does anybody know the reality of the likelihood of work as a line-handler there?

Barring the above working, my plan is to head north to Ft. Lauderdale, checking out Cancun along the way. Are these good - or better - places to find a boat going east?

Above all, my basic plan is to find cruising anchorages and hang around, ready to leave at a moment's notice.

Above all, my biggest questions are:

Is this a reasonable plan for a 21 yo trying to cross?

Is this a bad time of year for it?

Are there any heavily trafficked places you might suggest?

Does anyone have any other advice?

Thanks again!

Reply here or directly to jjames3157@yahoo.com