Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-30-2010, 08:28 AM   #1
Ensign

Hi all,

since I'm still a newbie sailor, have been plowing the seas for the past 2 years, I am still not yet asking the right questions. I am going to invest money on my 2nd boat now, the first one being a 27 ft light racing design from the 80s. I know quite well what I'm looking for - a durable, stable, perhaps heavy design that still is a good compromise between sailing capabilities and stability and internal capacity. A boat that is able to take a circumnavigation properly fitted, if I choose to go that path. I have been looking at 2nd hand boats now for a while, I think I have went out to see already 10 different boats.

What should I look for when I go and visit a boat and its owner? I've asked questions about how the boat has been used, where, has it been in salt water, has it been sailing in the Mediterranean, etc. I've asked questions on how it was maintained, does the hull have osmosis etc. As you might imagine, the owners always wiggle a bit, and then reply that they know of no problems to their boat.

Once I saw a boat with its keel tilted 5 degrees or even more, and the owner just said that oh, it was tilted during the manufacturing and welding of the keel and pouring in the hot lead. I responded to him that it's going to affect the sailing characteristics a lot, and also affect the resale value. How much should I "get off" of that kind of a boat?

I think most private boat sellers are willing to accept a straight cash payment (or rather, put money on their bank account). Is this anything that I should ask a discount for? What kind of items should I anyway start haggling the price down from?

topi

P.S. JeanneP, one thing that you could answer me: I'm going to see one Sun Fizz here, what should I look for? Any particular issues with that model?