Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 08-28-2008, 06:08 PM   #1
Ensign

Goodday,

I am a novice sailor starting to plan for my first trans-Pacific passage. I am asking around to get as many opinions as I can before I send my plans into motion. Amount of expieriance needed is my main concern.

My Plans:

I just completed my ASA 101 class and my once dream is now an obsession. I plan on taking the coastal cruising and bare boat class by the end of the year. 2009 I plan on taking the advanced and offshore cruising classes as well as the navigation class. By 2010, I plan on purchasing a 40'-45' blue water cruiser. I'm thinking about an older 42' Valiant, 44' Bruce Robert, or 42' Island Packet. In the winter of 2010-2011 I plan on spending 4-6 month in Mexico living aboard the cruiser and getting familiar with her systems while gaining confidence in sailing ability. Upon return I will get my six pack or 50 ton captain licence. In in winter of 2011 I plan to begin my tour of the South Pacific.

My Expieriance:

Even though I have little sailing expierance, I am far from green when it comes to the water. I have spent omy entire 26 years in, on, or around the ocean. I grow up on the beach and my father and brothers taught my to surf, fish, and free dive at an early age. I sat in on my first boater safey class when I was 11. I started working deck on the sport fishing boats when I was 14 and continued off and on until I was 22. Presently I am on the water 3-5 days a week surfing, paddleboarding, racing outrigger canoes, and fishing. As a avid surfer and fishermen, I am very familiar with the tracting storms and forecasting weather patterns.

My Question:

With my experiance and my plans, will I be ready for a trans-Pacific passage in three years?!

Thank you for your time!

Old 08-28-2008, 06:37 PM   #2
Admiral

Quote: