Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-20-2006, 07:08 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Working Carribean Advice?

I am planning to sail to the Caribbean from the UK via Brazil this winter. I will be very poor on this trip but dont really want to come home again. I was wondering i anyone knew about the possibility of working in the caribbean.

I am a university graduate but only speak english. I hope to have a TEFL (teaching english as foreign language) qulaification by the time i get there. Is it possible for a UK national to work there without special permits? What jobs are available? Is there anyway to get paid work involving boats?

If this isnt possible are there any alternatives, anywhere else i can work without returning to the uk?

Thanks in advance

Ben

Old 02-20-2006, 10:19 PM   #2
Rear Admiral

Big Ben,

"Anywhere else I can work without returning to the uk?"

Sure! Anywhere between Afghanistan and Zimbabwe.

You can go far, anywhere you wish, if you are honest, willing to work hard, share your knowledge and abide by local customs.

I frequently see "help wanted" ads from the British Virgin Islands. You'll still, however, have to jump through some hoops. And being a Subject of the Queen will not necessarily make it any easier. But it won't hurt, either. Start with a web search at www.BVI.com

I also recently played poker with a guy who owns an island near Virgin Gorda, Richard Branson, who occasionally hires Britts for seasonal work. You can reach him at www.neckerisland.com (just don't tell him that I sent you, okay).

"What jobs are available?" Everything from Accounting to Zoo Keeping.

Attitude and Determination are the keys.

There are all sorts of opportunities Out There... you just have to keep your eyes open and be prepared to jump when you see one.

Good luck,

Kirk

Old 02-20-2006, 11:21 PM   #3
benscottrobinson