Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard > Our Virtual Yacht Club
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 08-10-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Florianopolis
Default Complete rookie eager to learn

Hello fellow travelers,
I am a complete newby but I would love to learn more!
I can say I've been sailing before but never for more than a day and I would hardly know what vessel I was on (except that it had a sail on it and I learned how to turn it from side to side).

I come from a rather small island in Southern Brazil and love to be close to the sea when I am not of course in the sea. But I have been on a trip around Europe, Middle-East and Africa for the past 2 years (mostly over land, hitch-hiking) and I've been plotting my routes mostly out of intuition. By that I mean that I go where it feels right, but keep to a certain direction. I have arrived by plane to Europe and cruised through it in all directions finally making it to Turkey where I am now. From here on I make my way South towards Egypt and from there make my way to Western Africa where I hope to find a boat sailing over the Atlantic.

I have travelled manly over land and want to find a way home over the Ocean. Oh, yes and I'm doing all of this with absolutely no money (it's just how I've chosen to go since Sept. last year and I have ben very successful thus far).

I have been told by other travellers and sailors to just head to a port and be a helpful guy in the hopes that someone might take me out and help me either by teaching me or giving me a ride to the next port. But any advice from you guys here would be extremely helpful.

Old 08-11-2012, 02:41 AM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie