Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-08-2008, 11:05 PM   #1
Ensign

Hello everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself, and hope this is the correct manner in which to do so. Thanks for having me.

I am an American, but am currently living in Berlin. I work as a scenic designer and carpenter for the theatre.

I have sailing small dayboats (under 14') for my entire life, and have only recently had the pleasure of sailing some larger boats in Puget Sound, and was hooked. I have since moved to Berlin for the winter, but am interested in joining a crew, or several, as soon as possible and beginning to log some experience and knowledge on larger vessels. My goal is to end up back in Puget Sound in the summer of 2009, where I am considering attending the NW school of wooden boat building.

Any advice on where/when to start? How to get involved? I am extremely flexible and willing to travel most anywhere.

Thanks again,

Steven

Berlin, Germany
StevenHorstmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:20 AM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Welcome aboard, Steven! Once spring comes 'round, you might consider making your way to the local yacht clubs and volunteering to crew. Further, if you'll be at the NW School of Wooden Boat Building, you'll have no problem finding your way aboard the numerous boats around Port Haddock and surrounds

Also, be sure to check out the crewfinder section of our Cruiser Log-- you might find a skipper looking for crew before next summer.

Best of luck to you!

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:49 PM   #3
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

A big welcome aboard from me too Steven. Good luck with your plans and please keep us up to date on how you're getting on.

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki