Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-21-2009, 03:10 PM   #1
Ensign

I'm Max. I'm in the process of completing the purchase of a Bristol 27 in Tampa and will be sailing her back across the Gulf to her new home in Corpus Christi. I have limited experience and am looking for any words of wisdom about a westward transit of the Gulf.

Hope to learn a lot from the site and start contributing the lessons I'm to learn.

Old 04-21-2009, 03:41 PM   #2
Rear Admiral

G'Day Max,

I cant help with advice on this one but can welcome you to the site and say congratulations on the new yacht.

Enjoy.

JOHN

Old 04-21-2009, 04:10 PM   #3
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Let me also echo "Swagman's" welcome. Make yourself at home.

I'm sure that someone will be along shortly to assist you with your query.

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 03:34 AM   #4
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swagman View Post
G'Day Max,

I cant help with advice on this one but can welcome you to the site and say congratulations on the new yacht.

Enjoy.

JOHN
Thank you, good sir.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighthouse View Post

Let me also echo "Swagman's" welcome. Make yourself at home.

I'm sure that someone will be along shortly to assist you with your query.
Thank you also.

Everyone out there pray for these SW winds with their long fetch shift to NE between now and May 5th!

Max
Old 04-25-2009, 04:41 AM   #5
Admiral

Depending on the boat's condition - sea worthiness, engine and crew -- 780 nm almost due west of Tampa :- 10 >> 15 kts of ESE wind the whole way across today - plus the current coming from the same direction = equals good sailing conditions.