Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 03-07-2009, 07:58 PM   #1
Ensign

New member here and just wanted to say hello to the folks in the tavern. I'm a relatively green sailor. I used to sail sunfish and other small craft on lakes, and more recently I have sailed small yachts with experienced crew as a volunteer for a San Francisco-based organization called BAADS. That stands for the Bay Area Association of Disabled Sailors. I was an able-body volunteer learning from, and working with, disabled (and often very skilled and knowledgeable) sailors.

Like many, I'm a beginner, who has dreams of world cruising. I'm slowly working towards those dreams, but it's hard without a community. My friends and family do not sail so I'm really glad to have found this forum.

I'm know I can benefit from the knowledge here, and from seeing people who have achieved their goals. Understanding the path from a land-locked, corporate worker to a competent sailor is probably the first step.

I currently work a more-than-full-time job in video games, and lead a very active life on land. Being in the Bay Area, I think it may be a good step to buy an affordable blue water boat, and live aboard while retaining my job, learning the ropes, and saving for my journey. Saving for a boat, improving my skills, and learning about how to buy and live on a boat, seem like my first major tasks. I'm curious about the necessity of lessons, as they seem like a substantial expense.

I'll continue to be reading the forum, and wish you all the best.

Cheers & thanks,

-Jordan

Old 03-07-2009, 09:09 PM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Welcome aboard Jordan - I'm sure that you will learn as much here as I do every day.

Make yourself at home!

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''