Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 05-22-2007, 05:57 PM   #1
Ensign

hello my name is ross , hows everybody doing, just another newbie here. i figured i would come on here and ask some advice about what you guys think would be the best way to try to get on a boat as crew. i was just recently introduced to the idea by a friend i met in california who has sailed a couple times around the hawaiian islands. it seems like a really awesome way to travel and im really psyched about the whole idea. the main problem is, i have zero sailing or boating experience. i know from past experience that i can learn just about anything really quickly and i can learn to do it well! ive done plenty of carpentry and construction jobs in the past and gone into the job with no skills at all and finished the job with more work lined up for me because i did such a good job.

anyway im quite confident of my abilities and i know that if im given a chance i can prove myself, the only question i really have is how to go about getting that chance? i put a post on these boards in the crew section. i know there are a bunch of other sites out there as well, and ive seen people say things about going down to the marinas and talking to people and looking on bulletin boards and things like that. what do you think will work the best? or should i just do everything i can get my name out as much as possible and talk to as many people as possible? i dont want to come off as desperate, its just something i really really want to do. so any advice is appreciated, thanks!!!

Old 05-22-2007, 06:54 PM   #2
Ensign