Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 10-27-2014, 03:21 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Gainesville
Default Hello from Atl, GA

Hi everyone! I'm new here and probably don't have much business being here considering I have zero experience and knowledge! But I'm dying to learn and it's a dream of mine to sail around the world... and you've gotta start somewhere, so here I am! If anyone has any tips or advice to someone like me then shoot! As of right now I'm a 20 year old college student studying international affairs in Georgia, with an unhealthy amount of wanderlust and restlessness, hoping to connect with some folks that might help me gain the experiences I want. --Gabrielle

Old 10-27-2014, 06:42 PM   #2
Ensign

Home Port: Los Angeles
Default Get it Gabrielle

Hi Gabrielle:

I hope you know how fortunate you are at 20...you have fifty years of fun and adventure ahead of you! There are many paths to accomplish your dream of sailing the world, however, I believe at your age that the best option is a Maritime Academy. I am a little biased toward Cal Maritime, but if you enroll and earn a Marine Transportation degree, then you will graduate as an Unlimited Third Mate and can find a job immediately.

This is not some 9-5 job where you get weekends and a few weeks to pursue your dream. This job and career puts you out on the water immediately where you will become familiar with safety at sea protocols, electronics and navigation equipment that are non-existent in most small boat scenarios. That's a plus by itself, but what is really nice is that you will be making over 70k/year to start and by the time you upgrade to a Second Mate in a couple years, you will be making over 100k with 4 to 6 months off each year to sail wherever you desire.

CSUM | Academics ยป Marine Transportation