Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 07-25-2013, 11:23 PM   #1
Senior

Home Port: Dunedin
Vessel Name: Avanti
Default Hello from the South Island of New Zealand

We have done a bit of sailing and here is our story.
I am a retired Naval Officer, Royal New Zealand Navy (Korean War etc) and retired Master Printer and Publisher.
At 84 and 83 years we still cruising for 3 months each year logging 1500nm. Started sailing when I was 12 years old. At 16 years old I built a 6ft Tauranga "P"class sailing dinghy. Later owned an Idealong, Flying Fifteen, Westerly25, Cavalier32, and finally our Cavalier39 yacht "Avanti" which we have owned for 30 years. Margaret and I have logged 60,000nm together.

When under Naval training in UK I raced and cruised on the English and French coasts. In New Zealand waters from Dunedin I sailed 5 times to Stewart Island, twice to Southern Sounds (Fiordland), 25 times to Marlborough Sounds and circumnavigated the South Island (2 months) and the North Island (3 months). I have been sailing keelers on the splendid New Zealand coast for 45 years. Other return voyages with my wife include from NZ to Fiji, New Caledonia and Australia (2 years), and NZ to Tonga and Fiji (9 months).

We maintain Avanti at our own boat shed, wharf, mooring and haul-out rails only 160 meters from home. My interests are cruising, maintaining Avanti and writing.
In particular I am familiar with the South Island coast and may be of some help to cruising yachtsmen and yachtswomen visiting our magnificent islands.

My mooring at Careys Bay in the Otago Harbour is well sheltered and maintained with a depth of three meters at LW. As my guest I often make it available to visiting yachts with a displacement of up to 15 tons.
Fair Winds,
Bill McIndoe

Yacht Avanti, at Careys Bay,
Port Chalmers, Dunedin,
New Zealand.

Old 07-26-2013, 08:23 AM   #2