Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-05-2007, 09:59 AM   #1
Ensign

Ladies and Laddies:

Truly a newbie and something of a novice sailor, I am nevertheless, a sailor, and called David, but you can call me Popo, if not Ishmael...

I live in Taiwan, am somewhat tired of my involuntary and quite accidental exile. But it's been so long now, away from my home, that I do not suffer much inkling to return to Canada... EXCEPT to finish restoring my 31 foot Offshore-31 / Bermuda ketch -- by Cheoy Lee, ha-ha...

I am a writer and poet, dreaming of her, sitting on the hard as she still is, on a small island in the Emerald Isles of British Columbia... I've been restoring her little by little -- and it's a long and arduous task, but full of rewards: it's that sense of accomplishment that comes when you rebuild a masthead with your bare hands, carefully replacing the old sheave with a fresh smooth one, then reinforce the old wood with a fiberglass / epoxy head, and paint it all a nice white... Etc... To hand shape and refit new brass bushings into the wooden spreaders so the stainless steel rigging can slide freely... Etc... I am fascinated by my restoration project, though its intricacies are sometimes bewildering: for example, removing the old Atomic 4 gas engine left such a nice big, clean and non-smelly hole to fill. I decided that there was no way I would ever put a diesel engine back inside her. I opted for a nice cooler and will fill the sides with extra water tanks, too... Mount a simple small outboard on the back, which I can also remove and stow below... I am going to be the real thing, a real sailor... In this day and age when everyone is in a BIG hurry to get around, taking their behavior with them out to sea -- no way for me... I know how to wait for the wind, so to say -- and look forward to it...