Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-04-2007, 03:19 AM   #1
Ensign

Thumbs up

Hello, I'm new here but impressed with how well these boards are kept up and the amount of information shared here.

I'm also new to sailing and have no one here I can ask my (millions of) questions. Here's what I'm looking to have answered, and an introduction for myself follows. =) Thanks in advance for any answers you all can offer:

I will be studying for a year in Germany, where school finishes up in July 2008. What I'd like to know is, could I possibly find a crew position sailing from the Atlantic coast of Europe or the Mediterranean around this time? Ideally I'd be back to Houston by the end of August when school starts, but I'm flexible. Is this a good time in the year for sailing rigs to leave? Would anyone want an inexperienced sailor on a transatlantic trip? Does anyone have any contacts they could put me in touch with who might be doing this sort of trip, or know where I could find one?

Short intro