Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 05-18-2013, 04:55 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Gibraltar
Default New guy in town

First of all, HI EVERYBODY. As I said I'm the new guy arround here ( you have seen a lot of us in time...i'm sure). I'm so new and so not english(my grammar will prove that very soon) and offcourse I have tones of questions. I'm reading this forum and some others for months now. I decided only few days ago to join you and took me some other days to start bodering you.I'm not a real seaman as you will find out anyway but willing to learn and to start a new life on sea. I allready started to learn from reading this forum and others. I have no experience at all( my year spend sailing kids boats in week-ends- Optimist class+ some small sailing boats under 22 feet in college... can't be named experience) but I want to sail. I spend 40 years on land allready and feels too much... maybe I will explain why latter. I decided to sell my home, buy a sailing boat and go arround, and maybe in time(1-2 years), gaining enough experience, I will be able to do a circumnavigation. I allready said I will sell my house but that will be about 100,000 USD so, i will have to buy a boat with no more than 50,000 USD(eventual repairs and upgrades included) and keep the rest for how many years of freedom they will can buy.I allready readed "How to make money while cruising", so I have some answers( tones of more questions, but that will be another time, another place). I don't want to think about that yet... BUYING A GOOD BOAT is my concern now( after selling the house...but that will happen eventually).
So my dream boat will be like this:
-nice interior, aft cabin is a must
-sails considerably better in light winds