Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-19-2007, 10:48 PM   #1
Ensign

Hello everyone it is good to join a friendly bunch.

We have been working on our old boat for about 17 years to get it ready to go cruising. It is a 1927 80' tug converted to a cruisin yacht. We started cruising in the Pacific NW last year and have been on a steep learning curve since then.. we would love to hear from anyone who can relate to where we are. I am a marine engineer and a shipwright We have run into all kinds of challenges that we never expected. Has anyone ever had this happen to them ha ha?? ....."If its goin to happen, its goin to happen out there"(Captain Ron)

We, (Denny & Marcia) would love to share some stories So write us a line or two or more...

Old 12-20-2007, 01:36 AM   #2
Admiral

Welcome Denny and Marcia,

I have always thought of a tug as a boat that I would have if I moved away from Multihulls.

Back in the 80's on a visit to Alameda CA, met up with a couple who were restoring a former steam driven Tug. They had been at it for some 7 years - I seem to remember that it was over a 100 years old . Most of the original English Oak frames were still in good nick.

I would have loved to have kept in touch to find out how the restoration turned out.

Tell us where you are now ?

Good Chugging

Richard

Old 12-20-2007, 01:50 AM   #3
Admiral

Welcome fellow boaters!

It is not often we get others than sailing craft enthusiasts here so it is especially nice to have you guys with us.