Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-24-2012, 11:06 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Cardiff
Default New to the sailing world

Hello all
As the title would suggest im new to the world of sailing and looking to get involved.

I have been a divemaster for a few months now. I lived in Indonesia and spent all my time on the water or under it! I did work a summer in Canada at a wake boat rental company. Duties included parking, filling up and cleaning the boats. We also used to take the boats out most mornings to go wakeboarding. I do hold a Canadian pleasure craft license. My only sailing experience comes in at a whoooopping.....3 days! Aboard a yacht sailing the Whitsundays. I also used to drive my ex-girlfriends dads boat when we went fishing.

I have not long got back from some travels and im going to be staying put until the summer when i head back to Indonesia for more employment as a divemaster. Until this date i would like to get as much sailing experience as possible. Im not looking for money but knowledge. I am holding down some part time work so i cant go too far afield or for too long but i would be open to any suggestions. I can take time of work provided i give notice.

I would consider myself to be hard working, friendly and easy going. I get along with most people and even when i dont im able to bite my tongue. Im a quick learner and i already know my starboard from my port! Im a strong swimmer and able bodied with a love for fishing and a love for getting stuck in.

I live in Cardiff but would be willing to travel around the UK if needed.

Well now you all know a little bit about me, im not shy... as you can see!

Anybody with anything to say please feel free, its nice to find a community like this one. Hopefully i'll get to meet some of you one day.

Matty

Old 01-25-2012, 12:40 PM   #2
Admiral