Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 10-22-2010, 04:32 PM   #1
nhb
Ensign

Hello!

So like everyone else new, I just thought I would drop by and introduce myself.

Originally from Canada, did university in Australia...now I travel the world

Like many many other people I want to go by boat across the seas. I have been traveling non-stop since 2007, hitch-hiking over 90,000km. Now I feel it is time to go by sea.

I am in India and want to go east.

From what I have read, boats start to go east in November...all the way to April? People have told me to check out Mumbai, Kochin (Kerala) and Galle (Sri Lanka) - this true or no?

If anyone can give me any pointers, they would be greatly appreciated

-Taylor

www.couchsurfing.org/people/xnothingxheldxbackx

Old 10-22-2010, 04:48 PM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Welcome aboard and good luck with your travel plans.

Also see the page on the Cruisers Wiki - Movement of the Cruiser's fleet - worldwide.

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:11 PM   #3
Admiral

Hi, Taylor

Most cruising yachts travel from East to West - that's the direction that the trade winds blow, that's the easiest way to sail the world.

Galle, Sri Lanka usually sees yachts that have left SE Asia, particularly Thailand, on their way across the Indian Ocean to either the Red Sea or the Cape of Good Hope. Very, very few cruising yachts sail to India, so I wouldn't count on finding a ride there. Sorry.