Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-17-2009, 05:11 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi everyone, I could use a bit of help. I’m new to the large boat sailing world and am trying to make the transition from land to sea life. I’m looking to live aboard and then sail around the world upon retirement. I would like my first boat to be the only boat I buy. If anyone could give me suggestions on what boat make/model I should look at I would appreciate it. It would be a full time live aboard motor sailor, anywhere from 30 to 42 ft preferably 42, comfortable for 2, extremely durable/safe, capable of world cruising. I’m also trying to keep the cost under or around $110,000. I’ve looked at the Hunter 42 and Catalina 42 (1991?). So far I’m really impressed with Catalina. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Flying fish

Old 06-17-2009, 06:08 PM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Take a look around the forums at what other folks have posted regarding thei choice of cruising sailboats.

When you budget for your boat, think in terms of price of boat = 60% and then you'll spend another 40% outfitting it as you need it to be. Therefore, if you've got $110K total, look at boats in the $60K-70K range at max.

You mention "motor sailor"...pretty much all sailboats these days have capable motoring capacity and can be motor sailed, I suggest you not look at true "motor sailors" as they often are limited in their real sailing abilities. If you do plan to motor most of the time, you might consider a displacement hull motor boat (e.g. a trawler type boat) as you'll find more room and comfort than that which you'll find aboard a sailing boat--and you'll operate for less money than motoring around in a sailboat as well.