Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2008, 11:56 PM   #1
Admiral
 
MMNETSEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,067
Default

Having used dozens of different programs over the years to arrive at a basic list. It would be of interest to get an appreciation of what other cruisers are using :-

My favorites :-

Operating System ~~ MS XP

File Manager ~~ Novatix Explorer Plus

Browser ~~ Firefox

Email Client ~~ Thunderbird

Writing ~~ Open Office

Spread Sheet ~~ Lotus 123

Music & Video ~~ JetAudio Plus VX

Photos & Images ~~ Faststone Image Viewer

Richard
__________________

__________________
MMNETSEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:09 AM   #2
Ensign
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Weather forecasts - Ugrib (free)

Tides and currents - Tide Tool (on my cell phone)

Navigation - Offshore Navigator (but looking for a replacement, after Maptech folded)

Jack
__________________

__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Offshore Instructor

CYA Advanced Cruising Instructor

As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)


jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 09:04 PM   #3
Commander
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Firefox when we have wifi

Ironkey with Firefox for banking and purchasing for security reasons

Software on Board for AIS and navigation

MaxSea for routing, secondary radar inside from Furuno chartplotter/radar outside

Skype when wifi works

Sailmail for SSB mail so I can do business at sea

Sailmail grib and weather reports at sea

weatherfax at sea

Ugrib and Passageweather.com with wifi

Photoshop Elements and Picassa for uploading pictures to blog

Google sketch-up for drawing a designing

And dozens more....
__________________
SeaVenture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 09:22 PM   #4
Ensign
 
J3rry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to J3rry
Default

xtide !!!!!!!

xtide needs to be installed, then the data files get downloaded . . . . after that, you can use the simple world map to zoom into your area, click on the nearest station and gets graphs of tide times, and tide heights.

It'll scroll forward to find the tide times in advance for you.

heres the link http://www.flaterco.com/

I use GNU/linux, which xtide was designed for, apparently its available for windows users as well.
__________________
J3rry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 09:28 PM   #5
Ensign
 
J3rry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to J3rry
Default

Stellarium !!!!

is a beautifull programme, it gives an absolutely accurate visualisation of the position of stars & planets, adjusted for your current global position.

Like xtide its completely free, and available for windows. and very scientifically grounded, not just a pretty face.

If you're sailing at night, it gives you a usefull "sky map"

Heres the link http://www.stellarium.org/ GNU/linux users should use their package manager in preference to downloading directly 'though
__________________
J3rry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 09:42 PM   #6
Ensign
 
J3rry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to J3rry
Default

lynx web browser

I prefer firefox, but if you're cruising, you're probably paying a packet for all network traffic.

the most effective way to minimise that traffic is to use an old-fashioned text-only-browser

Heres the link http://lynx.isc.org/lynx2.8.6/index.html

It has huge limitations though, . . . . it wont display images, nor can you bank online for instance. . . . . but its very fast. . . .
__________________
J3rry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:51 PM   #7
Admiral
 
MMNETSEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,067
Default

Recently received disturbing reports that a number of existing navigation and navigation related programs are incompatible with the MS Vista operating system. These include versions of Maxsea , Total Tides etc..

It would be very useful if those cruisers who have Vista installed could list their Nav programs that will not work on the Vista platform.

We could then compile the findings and report them to Microsoft - at the same time add them to this Website

Richard
__________________
MMNETSEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 01:31 AM   #8
Moderator
 
redbopeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee
Posts: 3,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMNETSEA View Post
Recently received disturbing reports that a number of existing navigation and navigation related programs are incompatible with the MS Vista operating system. These include versions of Maxsea , Total Tides etc..

It would be very useful if those cruisers who have Vista installed could list their Nav programs that will not work on the Vista platform.

We could then compile the findings and report them to Microsoft - at the same time add them to this Website

Richard
Good idea, Richard. A work-around for legacy programs that don't work with newer operating systems is for you to license VMWare and install the older copy of needed OS in VMWare. For example, I even have a Windows NT 4.0 install under VMWare because I had a bunch of engineering analysis programs running under NT and didn't want to deal with install and glitches under new OS. Benefits are good for doing this as the VMWare install can go indefinitely forward from machine to machine with your old OS in status in the VMWare install. Something to consider.
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:22 AM   #9
Admiral
 
Nausikaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,619
Default

I have Vista after a complete crash of XP. Unfortunately my nav program NAVMASTER will not work with VISTA. I contacted NAVMASTER only to be told that there is a VISTA compatable version for £108.

Not a little unhappy about this, I decided not to buy again what I regard as something I already bought, despite having the Admiralty charts, which the system supports, for half the world. If I buy a train ticket I don't care what tracks the train runs on just as long as it gets me to my destination. I believe the same thing should apply to software. The fault, of course, is not that of NAVMASTER but of Microsoft making an operative system which is not compatable backwards. At the same time, I am sure NAVMASTER are making a penny or two on their new version, which probably not be compatable with the next operative system.

The bottom line is that the customer is being cheated.

Aye // Stephen
__________________
Yacht NAUSIKAA | Call Sign: 2AJH2




WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU DID SOMETHING FOR THE FIRST TIME?

www.nausikaa.org.uk

= Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Lithuania
Nausikaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:42 AM   #10
Admiral
 
MMNETSEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redbopeep View Post
A work-around for legacy programs that don't work with newer operating systems is for you to license VMWare and install the older copy of needed OS in VMWare. Benefits are good for doing this as the VMWare install can go indefinitely forward from machine to machine with your old OS in status in the VMWare install. Something to consider.
Hi Brenda,

Being completely unaware of VMWAre and its potential, necessitated a look at their website :-

Still in the dark as to which product would allow user to use programs that will function well on XP but not on Vista - Which ????

Price

VMware Workstation 6.5 for Windows

Electronic Software Download - Start Using It Instantly

$189.00

VMware Workstation 6.5 for Windows 5 Pack

Electronic Software Download - Start Using It Instantly

$899.00

VMware Workstation 6.5 for Windows 10 Pack

Electronic Software Download - Start Using It Instantly

$1,690.00

Richard
__________________
MMNETSEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:03 PM   #11
Ensign
 
J3rry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to J3rry
Default

A bit of a workaround, . . . . simpler perhaps, but not as elegant as vmware would be to have Vista create around 10Gb on your hard drive . . . . then install Windows XP on the free space, "Dual Booting"

The big danger is you'll inadvertently wipe all your wondows Vista data.

Benefits are you'll have a backup Operating System, and unlike vmware, it'll support HARDWARE which vista might not have drivers for (vmware is for SOFTWARE)

But its a kludge, . . . .
__________________
J3rry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:09 PM   #12
Commander
 
gslabbert5119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 195
Send a message via Yahoo to gslabbert5119
Default

VmWare Workstation6.5 for windows is the product you will use, but be aware that it is resource and memory intensive. I had to more than double my ram and disk size to run VMWare, but then again I was running Cisco's CallManager on Windows server 2000 under it.

What you have to do when you install it is allocate a certain amount of disk space to VMWARE, which it uses as a virtual drive, you build a virtual machine selecting your operating system of choice which then gets installed in the VM disk, you then have to install all the software in the virtual machine and, whalla you have an additional system. IE: I have a desktop computer with a terrabyte drive and 16 gig of memory which has the base operating system of XP on it, I then created Virtual machines running NT Server 2000, Unix and Vista. The machine runs as 4 different OS's, but not what I would call bulletproof, but it does the job.

Gavin

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMNETSEA View Post
Being completely unaware of VMWAre and its potential, necessitated a look at their website :-

Still in the dark as to which product would allow user to use programs that will function well on XP but not on Vista - Which ????

Price

VMware Workstation 6.5 for Windows

Electronic Software Download - Start Using It Instantly

$189.00

Richard
__________________
Gavin & Lesley

http://BlueWaterCruising.com

http://photographybygavin.com

"Dwell on the could haves, we must not. Focus on the solution, we must...." -- Yoda --
gslabbert5119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:13 AM   #13
Moderator
 
redbopeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee
Posts: 3,225
Default

I haven't kept up with VMWare's versions. Seems like Gavin has, though. We were very early adopters of VMWare, so I have an older version of VMWare that, as I recall, allowed one to install any OS desired within it as long as one has a license to the desired OS to be run inside of VMWare. At the time, we had a RedHat install of Linux as the main OS on several computers and having the VMWare Windows NT4.0 allowed me to actually just move the virtual NT machine from computer to computer as needed. Now, we have Debian Linux as our main OS and I can use the VMWare NT4.0 virtual machine if needed for those legacy programs. Its actually pretty nifty to have gone through about 15 computers in the last 10 years and still have that same NT4.0 OS available if I need it. No re-install, no nothing. Its available and good to go each time. When I had 6 computers on a network, I could pull up the NT machine and use it on any given computer and that was really nice.

With enough hard drive space, one can just do a dual boot--I have a notebook with Windows XP Pro dual boot with Linux and a Shuttle SFF with the same. Hardware control is certainly more of a sure thing with a dual boot system.

VMWare does require lots of RAM, but the work my husband and I do relates to medical image processing so we have huge image data files to process and that takes a lot of RAM--therefore its always available for us. VMWare can be a little glitchy with some peripherals like printers. For about 6 months on a particular machine, I found myself printing to a .pdf and then having the computer's "real" OS print to the printer. On the plus side, unlike a dual boot-OS setup, a VMWare installation allows you to go back and forth between the two (or more) OS within seconds--no rebooting required.

I don't know any other cruisers who use a Linux OS. Because of our software-related work, we're pretty much going to stay core Debian Linux users and I would suspect that as some of the Linux-based Windows emulators (e.g. WINE) get even better so that one can use a program written for Windows on a Linux machine, we'll not use a Microsoft OS at all.
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:53 AM   #14
Moderator
 
delatbabel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 698
Send a message via AIM to delatbabel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redbopeep View Post
I don't know any other cruisers who use a Linux OS. Because of our software-related work, we're pretty much going to stay core Debian Linux users and I would suspect that as some of the Linux-based Windows emulators (e.g. WINE) get even better so that one can use a program written for Windows on a Linux machine, we'll not use a Microsoft OS at all.
I use Linux, although RedHat/CentOS rather than Debian.

Currently I'm struggling to get my navigation software of choice (SO and its various drivers, C-MAP DLLs, etc, running under WINE but I'll have another go at it later.

Del
__________________

__________________
= New South Wales, Queensland,
delatbabel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlueChart software? Bajamas General Cruising Forum 7 02-23-2006 11:47 PM
Sextant software kit General Cruising Forum 3 07-23-2005 11:27 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0