Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > The Med, Atlantic & Caribbean > Regional Discussions
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-21-2010, 03:59 PM   #1
Ensign

Friends, I am a permanently disabled vet exisiting on VA disability. read, no money! A very kind and generous benifactor heard about me and decided to give me his 27 ODay as he has acquired a large boat project! The boat has only a compass. I know there are boat owners out there that are upgrading their boats with "the latest and greatest" cause the can afford to and it's fun---Like Christmas. I know I'd do it if I could afford to. Anyhow, if anyone has done this and replaced systems that still work and would be willing to help me I'd be greatful beyond words. I need, and in this order, VHF radio, Depth Sounder,GPS or GPS Chart Plotter, Wind Generator, Solar Panels and eventually a radar system. People, it is very difficult for me to admit this, but these items must be in working condition and free cause I just don't have any money. I can cover my food but probably will spend most of my time sailing or on the hook cause I can't afford marinas very often either.

Boat is in Georgia and I'll be trying to move northward as soon as I find a VHF Radio so can pick up anywhere along coast. Oh, Old Charts in good condition.. Where can I find them? Thanks for the help every one. avoisine at cox dot net

Old 06-21-2010, 08:44 PM   #2
Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVoisine' date='21 June 2010 - 06:59 PM View Post

Oh, Old Charts in good condition.. Where can I find them?
Be careful with old charts. You will have to spend a lot of effort to update them.

I would recommend obtaining a used laptop, install linux and opencpn on them, and use NOAA charts.

I believe you can obtain a used laptop which is enough for this task for free.

Linux and opencpn are open source = free.

NOAA charts for US coasts are also downloadable for free.