Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Repairs & Maintenance
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-25-2009, 08:23 AM   #1
muz
Ensign

I'm a bit of a newbie to posting but have been watching for a while and thought you guys may have some answers regarding these questions.

I have just replaced the 3 'keel' bolts that hold an approx 200kg lead bulb onto the retractable centreboard on my 28ft trailerable 'Spyder Besyder'.

The bolts that came out , 2 with alot of vocal encouragement and 1 that broke off and had to be drilled out, were I/2 " BSW mild steel threaded rod and were heavily corroded. These were screwed into what looks like stainless steel nuts welded to the base of the centreboards internal stainless steel frame. After a bit of searching I found some 316 stainless steel threaded rod with a BSW thread(apparently BSW is being phased out in Australia and most threads are UNC OR METRIC). I have used this with an anti seizing paste for the new 'bolts'.

I've always thought stainless shouldn't be used underwater for electrolysis reasons ,and have had stainless rudder brackets and pintles underwater on another boat that did suffer from this, but was fixed by attaching an anode to the affected area. SB is usually stored on a trailer so I hope not to have this problem and the existing SS in the centreboard looks ok.

Has anyone had experience with this ?

I have also always been told that stainless steel nuts and bolts under load can sieze and be very difficult to undo , especially rigging screws which is why they are normally Bronze or Gal steel.

Why then don't smaller SS nuts and bolts seem to suffer from this as they normally come apart easily?.... Size?