Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Engines | Propulsion | Generators
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-07-2006, 03:32 PM   #1
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie
Default Diesel engine

Periodically, I fire up my diesel whilst I am at the dock. My owners manual (GM Detroit 3-53) says I should idle the engine for 5 minutes before putting it under load then, before shutting it down, idle the engine again for five minutes. I have been in the habit of loading it by turning on refrigeration and other electrics and running it in gear. I am not a mechanic. This afternoon I was told that running the engine at idle will glaze the cylinder bores, and that running it under load against mooring ropes is of no use. I am self employed and currently working all the hours I can in an effort to power-boost the cruising kitty. In Darwin, I keep the boat in a marina managed by lock gates, so I rarely am able to run the diesel unfettered. Is my routine correct, or am I contributing to possible engine damage?

David.

Auzzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 07:03 PM   #2
Admiral

Hi David,

Your informant was right. The worst thing you can do with a diesel is to run it at idling speed. Even running it with partial load, such as against mooring lines, will not help unless you get the revs up.

A diesel should be run at about 80% of its maximum load for prolongued life.

Idling before running under load and doing the same in reverse afterwards is a good policy only because it warms up the engine and cools it down slowly. Also, when warming up, you are spreading the engine oil around. Starting a cold engine and going direct to operational speeds and loads would result in added wear due to the initial lack of lubrication.