Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Other Equipment
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-20-2008, 11:08 PM   #1
Admiral

Home Port: Who cares really...
Vessel Name: T
Send a message via Yahoo to Trim50

I have been pondering this for a few months now and was wondering if anyone else has solved this problem. I want to install davits for my tender, however the stern of my boat doesn't lend itself to aft boarding ladder. If I don't have an aft boarding ladder, how does one attach and detach the tender from the davits????

Old 02-21-2008, 02:33 AM   #2
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trim50 View Post
If I don't have an aft boarding ladder, how does one attach and detach the tender from the davits????
Good question !!! Simple answer = with difficulty !

Name:   Trims_Stern2.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  18.8 KB

One alternative :-

Click image for larger version

Name:	Transom_Ladder1.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	348

The above ladder is extended in the Left pic and folded in the Right. To work on Trim's transom the stand offs should be lengthened so that the ladder when extended is vertical - also to strengthen the forward ends of the standoffs should be joined by a strut. The jpgs are those of a Garelick ladder.

If a ladder was fitted to Trim - best on as far starboard as possible.

Equally important is the rigging - min 3 sheaves per pulley on the davits - really long lines to enable the dinghy to be well free of the boat when floating. The Davits must hold the Dinghy very high off the transom - provision must be made to secure the dinghy in terms of side movement and fore and aft movement - It must not be able to move 1 mm.

The Outboard may need its own side davit off the port side davit.

I don't know if the above provides an answer to the difficulty. Perhaps a couple of measurements would help :- a. angle of transom b. height of transom to water. c. Width of gunwale ???

Richard