Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Other Equipment
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-23-2009, 06:21 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi

HELP!

I am new to all this so forgive me if there is already the information here as I have not been able to find it yet.

Slightly different but similar question. I have a wreck of a DIY narrowboat with bits and pieces of disconnected copper pipes and hot water cylinder and another blue tank thing.

I have bought a small solid fuel stove with a back boiler but do not have any idea how to connect it up from scratch for the heating and especially the hot water. Unfortunately I cannot afford a boatyard to fit it all for me. I wanted to use the flexible piping for ease because of the of boat shape.

Can anyone tell me how to do it, where to find idiot proof instructions or a book to enable me to do this PLEASE??? I have bought recyled insulation made from plastic bottles to insulate the boat too to keep the warmth in when it's working? Thank you for your precious time.

Dreamboat in progress.

Old 02-23-2009, 06:52 PM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

This is a link to a solid fuel stove topic over in the "galley" forum:

http://www.cruiserlog.com/forums/ind...howtopic=10691

Regarding insulation, you want to pick up something non-flammable. Anything made with petroleum products (including plastic) will not suffice as non-flammable. Go into a shop that sells stoves for the house and learn about the insulation materials that are used in your country. Here, a suitable "heavy" material is a backerboard also used for tiles. I used a US Gypsum product called Micore 300 Mineral Board. It is lightweight and used for fire proofing in elevators as well as around stoves on boats. There will be some similar product in your country.