Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Free Sailing Crewfinders > Crew Positions Wanted
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-07-2011, 10:28 PM   #1
Ensign

Thanks for reading my post. I'm a Canadian writer in the midst of a travel / life adventure. Have finished a month of sailing Vanuatu from Port Vila to Santo, visiting remote islands and meeting villagers. Along the way we performed Reef Check surveys and, at one village in Malakula, collaborated with the villagers to remove 511 coral-reef destroying crown of thorn starfish. Have had one proposal of marriage, two offers of unlimited accommodation and have enjoyed many precious connections with people.

Sailing experience, in addition to the one month aboard a 37m, ferro-concrete ketch, includes several seasons of fresh water sailing on Lake Ontario, one the five Great Lakes, including a crossing. Certifications: Cruising Standard, Marine First Aid and VHF-DSC. Also Open Water Diver certification and have all equipment except tank and weights, both of which I'd be happy to purchase. I am keen to learn more about navigation and sailing in general.

My former belief, "home" is the place our children were born, is currently under revision as I realize flags breed walls and we have too many divisions as it is. Not yet ready to return to North America, I'd first like to explore South East Asia...Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia (or wherever). I'd be happy to fly to Australia to meet a vessel, and dive the Great Barrier Reef before departure, or can fly anywhere within 5,000 nm of Vanuatu. Also compelling is a trans-oceanic passage to South or Central America and, depending on the route and timing, either via Pacific or Atlantic would be equally attractive. The Caribbean, particularly Mexico's Mayan Peninsula, would make for a major milestone destination.