Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-05-2008, 03:49 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi,

I am about to enter the world of offshore cruising.I have some experience at inland water motorboat cruising but none offshore.I am contemplating to buy a motorboat in the near future.

I like to get prepared for all kinds of NAVIGATION electronic. celestrial etc.

To achieve this I like to start with DVD lessons which makes it more easy for me to understand.I searched the web for DVD's but since I acquired some DVD's already (not navigation) and I wasn't very happy with I like to ask this Forum if you have some favorable experience and suggestions which would be worth my money spend.bad weather DVD's to see how big swells are to be handled are wellcome.

Somebody out there can help me finding the right DVDs with title and web page would appreciated.

maybe you have such DVD's and like to sell!

regards

Rainer

Old 04-05-2008, 08:27 PM   #2
Admiral

Hello Rainer,

Here are some on-line sites that provide the type of navigational skills you are seeking :-

Course#1

Course#2

Course#3

Old 04-06-2008, 04:56 PM   #3
Ensign

[QUOTE=name='MMNETSEA' date='Apr 5 2008, 11:27 PM' post='19668']

Hello Rainer,

Here are some on-line sites that provide the type of navigational skills you are seeking :-

Course#1

Course#2

Course#3

Thank you, like it, no DVD recommendations?
Old 04-06-2008, 11:12 PM   #4
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by meaversand View Post
Thank you, like it, no DVD recommendations?
I am afraid not , you might check with the sites suggested , they may have as part of their courses.

In the meantime, while you wait for your boat - why not get yourself a map of the countryside where you are staying, one with latitude and longitude coordinates - and buy yourself a hand held GPS - practice plotting your position from the GPS and marking it off on the map.