Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-31-2008, 12:37 AM   #1
Ensign

Hi

I joined another group with same question just an hour ago. This is very important so I need as much info from as many different scources as I can get. Hope you can help!

I'm sure after reading my questions, all will know I'm a complete newbie. I need GOOD advice as to whether my Dream/plan will work. So I have a few questions that I really hope I can get real answers for.

In 6 years I wish to retire. To do this I hope to find a lifestyle that I can afford. To that end, my plan is: I hope to be able to buy a good used boat. (Hopefully a cat around 36 to 40") I will be able to pay about $130k cash for it. Thats question 1. Is it possible to find a decent boat for this price?

I will also put $40k in the bank as a buffer for emergency's and to gain a little cash on interest. For income I need to know if it is possible for my wife and I to take out vacation charters and if so how many per year. I understand that an average all inclusive sailing vacation per week start at around $3.500. The boat would have to be kept spotless and good looking of course. By the time I'd like to retire I would be well qualified as in holding a Masters license, cpr, wife is registered medical professional. Licensed Diver. Speak 3 languages between us etc. All the things that seem to be what most people desire in a captain and crew. I apologize in advance for the length of this letter. I hope all who read this will be able to help we make this decision. I'm pretty much open to anywhere in the world but it does have to be WARM

Old 01-31-2008, 07:37 AM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Welcome aboard.

I'm sure others here will be able to give more detail but, let me give you the "bottom line" (unfortunately).

If you take any money (or kind) at all from anyone aboard you are classified as a "Charter".