Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising & Sailing Wiki > Cruising & Sailing Wiki Discussion
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-14-2013, 08:58 AM   #1
Commander

Home Port: Hobart
Vessel Name: Honey Bee
Default Mud Maps / Charts

I've been playing around with the Wiki for a couple of years now and think it has enormous potential. The use of Google Earth is good as far as it goes, but I feel that it doesn't really address the need for decent mud maps of anchorages.

I'm somewhat artistically challenged, so drawing publishable ones of my own seems out of the question. Most contributors undoubtedly will have favourite anchorages that are best described with a sketch.

An easy solution would be screen grabs from OpenCPN or whatever charting software is used, but this would throw up all sorts of copy right issues.

Has anyone got some constructive thoughts on this issue?

Old 02-27-2013, 10:24 AM   #2
Admiral

Sorry, honeybee, to take so long to address this question/idea.

If you are grabbing charts published by the US - NOAA- there are no copyrights. The US govt. feels that its taxpayers have already paid for the charts so they're "owned" by all. I know the rest of the world isn't so generous, but they also aren't particularly diligent in protecting the copyrights of their charts except when used in commercial applications.