Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-21-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Port Townsend, WA
Vessel Name: Skybird
Default The Caribbean in 5 years.

I'm/We are just getting started. We have a 37' sailboat. My boyfriend has been sailing for almost 10 years here in the Pacific North West and our dream? To sail to the Caribbean of course. We believe that we are being realistic about it. Planning, saving, studying. He is the expert and I'm just learning. So I have some questions to throw out there.
1. How long will it take? (Note: I realize, of course, that this depends on weather, time spent in each port, any unexpected delays but I'm just looking for a ball park figure.)
Many more to come. . .
Thanks!

Old 09-21-2012, 09:30 PM   #2
Ensign

Home Port: millisle
Smile the caribbean in 5 years

hi,

my wife and i are 2 years into our planning for a similar journey of adventure - so we may cross, paths us travelling from bangor co.down northern ireland and u from ?,

anyway to answer u question how long will it take - as long as it needs, because in the fraternity of which u now are members, time becomes suffice - hail all blue cruisers!!!!!!!

fair wind on your journey.

Old 09-21-2012, 09:38 PM   #3
Ensign

Home Port: Port Townsend, WA
Vessel Name: Skybird
Default Adventure!

Thanks for the reply!
And that, i believe, is the beauty of a trip like this.
You can truly take all the time you need!
We will just be traveling from the Seattle area down along the coast.
No ports of choice yet but like I said we are just getting started.

Ships are the nearest things to dreams that hands have ever made. - Robert N. Rose
Old 09-22-2012, 03:28 AM   #4
Lieutenant

Home Port: Cheyenne, WY
Vessel Name: CAREFREE
Send a message via Skype™ to gts1544