Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > Pacific & Australasia > Regional Discussion Topics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-13-2010, 05:47 PM   #1
Ensign

Alright, as a newbie, I have a simple question. With an experienced captain (and a low experienced owner/crewman) when would be the best time to sail my 35' sloop from San Fran to Seattle. She has a small Penta MD11C diesel for backup. Thanks for any responses from vessels that have made the trip. Cheers!
Attached Images

Old 02-13-2010, 07:53 PM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

The trip can be made any time of year but will be entirely dependent upon a weather window when you arrive in SF and want to go north. I've not made the trip but have many friends who have done so. You will likely motorsail--your small engine will need to be employed. I don't know anyone who has sailed it without a motor.

Taking a look at the swell/wave sizes and going up when they are smaller rather than larger is of course a good thing. Look at the publication 108 Atas of Pilot Charts for the North Pacific Ocean to get an idea of what average currents/winds are each month of the year. Also look at the movement of the Pacific High on average each month. Pub 108 is not yet available online. Other Atlas of Pilot Charts are available LINK You can get pub 108 where you find charts. I purchased my copy at Seabreeze Books and Charts LINK and they do ship worldwide if you cannot find another provider.