Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-12-2007, 04:33 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Looking for good mooring prices

Hello everyone

I am looking for some info on how to go about obtaining mooring costs for my yacht in various places around the med. I have had bad luck with coming across these so far. Can anybody recommend someone to help me with this as I am new to the yachting world.

thanks and reply to danielleschaeffer (AT) hotmail.com

Old 02-12-2007, 05:29 PM   #2
imported_admin

If you are looking for marinas, try a Google search for "marina Med" or marinas in the various countries you intend to visit.

Perhaps others here have personal advice on various marinas.

Good luck.
Old 02-12-2007, 06:34 PM   #3
Rear Admiral

Hi,

The Meds a big sea and has many countries bordering its shores. If you can narrow your areas of interest I can provide some limited info.

JOHN
Old 02-13-2007, 12:08 AM   #4
Rear Admiral

We had exclusive use of a free mooring for four days right under the "city" of Thira on the west side of Santorini. Priceless! We only left because a bunch of fat, naked Germans showed up on a rusty steel yacht and wanted to raft-up with us.

We found a free marina on the southern side of Santorini where we stayed another two weeks.

When checking into Malta - the harbourmaster asked where we wanted to keep the boat, to which I replied "I'd prefer to stay wherever it won't cost anything". He smiled and suggested we go around and take an empty mooring in the creek near the ancient boatyard . He said there were plenty of vacant moorings around there and that it was generallay okay to stay unless the owner asked you to leave. The owner did come by and he offered me a job! We stayed four weeks and made some money doing harbour cruises on a funky Maltese fishing boat! Priceless!