Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-12-2006, 09:52 AM   #1
Ensign

Default west coast USA to Thailand

I am an aussie living in Thailand. presently negotiating to buy a yacht, a 42' racer with pipe berths. The boat is near Baltimore. How do I get it to Thailand. I have very little sailing experience, but now have the time to fix that. From my research on the net I certainly cannot afford a professional crew ie. $400 us/day for a captain +++. I am waiting on quotes from shippers to say take it across either of the oceans and then with some experienced help finish the trip. which way is the safest via the med or via the Pacific? how long will it take, I do have some business committments, so i don't want to spend 6 months on the trip. can i do it for say $10,000 U.S dollars. and in 3 months?

Old 02-12-2006, 10:39 AM   #2
Admiral

No. Forgive me for being blunt, but from Baltimore to Thailand is six months if you really rushed it. You've got to worry about hurricane seasons. It's a very, very long distance. And any crew you pick up is going to want to cruise, not rush. And with very little sailing experience yourself, you're liable to scare yourself before you have enough experience to finish the trip.

I also don't think you can ship it to Thailand for $10,000. But shipping it, in your circumstances, might be the best idea.

SY WATERMELON |
MV WATERMELON (New) | Cruiser's Dictionary, free ebook

= Cruiser's Dictionary, North America,
JeanneP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 02:05 PM   #3
Commander

Send a message via MSN to dnelson

Hi Phillip,