Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Free Sailing Crewfinders > Crew Positions Wanted
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 03-04-2015, 07:25 AM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: London
Default Must get to Australia!

Hi,
I need to get to Australia in the next two months to avoid being stuck in India with no visa and no money. Anyone looking for crew? I can work in Australia as I have the right visa, but cannot make enough money here for a plane ticket, especially with the season in Goa coming to a close.
Can anyone give me any advice on what route to take? For example is it possible to go direct, maybe from Chennai, or would I have to get to Indonesia/Malaysia first?
Maybe there are some commercial/leisure routes from Kochi in the south?
Although I have very little sailing experience, I am no stranger to physical labour and am willing to work hard for passage in whatever tasks I can manage. I can also cook and am a musician with my instrument so can play my way too (although will happily refrain from playing if that was preferred)!
Any help and suggestions will be much appreciated and remembered.
Thanks so much,
Arthur
(You can email me on arthur.randle@googlemail.com)
Thanks again!

Old 03-04-2015, 03:54 PM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

G'day Arthur, It's a tough ask to hitch a ride between anywhere in India and Australia at this time of the year. The major problem for sailing boats is, it's uphill all the way. Traditionally sailing boats advance around the world from east to west, because generally that is the way of the prevailing winds in the warmer latitudes.