Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-27-2012, 06:18 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Sydney
Default An intro from Sydney

Hi all and thanks for having me aboard the Cruiser Log site. They say the Tavern is the place for an intro so here we are.

I'm Pete, 31, based in Sydney, currently in the early stages of learning how to sail with a 2 year plan of buying a boat from the US or Europe and sailing it back to Aus.

I've always been drawn to the water, possibly from hearing my Grandfather's nautical tales from a very young age. As I've grown older (not up), I've progressively moved closer to the coast or the harbour. These days I walk 300 metres dragging my Kayak and paddle Sydney Harbour but it’s a lot of effort and the view doesn't change as much as I'd like. Solution - let nature do the work. That’s why I started learning to sail. I'm doing a bunch of RYA courses through Pacific Sailing School based out of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and really enjoying it.

So far I'm picking it all up pretty quickly as there’s a lot of transferable skills form my day job. I work in Oil Rig construction doing Rope Access and Rigging. It’s a good gig. I only work 6 months of the year, which gives me plenty of time to pursue other interests.

At the moment we’re running from tropical cyclone Iggy off the coast of Karratha in the Indian Ocean on a construction barge doing 5 knots. It’s interesting being out here during the rough weather and imagining trying to survive it in a smaller vessel.

I’m a very relaxed bloke so racing doesn’t appeal to me which is why cruising is more my style. I’ve got a lot to learn and I wonder how people did it pre Internet. So far my hours of nautical education online far outweigh my hours at the helm.

So now it’s time for me to catch up on what the community has been talking about.

Old 01-27-2012, 08:31 PM   #2